English Select language: Norwegian


What is the Nordic Road Association (NVF)?

The Nordic Road Association (NVF) was established in Stockholm in 1935. The founding members were Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, whereas the Faroe Islands joined in 1975.

The NVF facilitates cooperation within the sector, with members from both the public and private sectors, and a total of some 320 member organisations in the Nordic countries.

Work in the NVF is organised in 4-year periods which culminate in a congress. Chairmanship of the NVF rotates among the member countries. Norway currently holds the chair and will be leading the work towards the Via Nordica congress in Trondheim in 2016.

Each member country has a national association that is affiliated with the NVF. The NVF is governed by the NVF Board, which consists of the chair, vice chair and secretary of the national associations. The chair of the Communications Group has observer status on the Board. The chair, vice chair and secretary in the country that has the chairmanship assume the roles of Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary of the NVF Board during the four-year period.
The secretaries of the national associations comprise a Secretary Group which, under the leadership of the NVF Secretary, is responsible for the on-going activities of the NVF.
The work of the NVF takes place within 16 different committees. Some committees have both a national and a Nordic level, while other committees exist only on the Nordic level. Each committee has a chair and a secretary. Chairmanship of the various committees is apportioned among the member countries.

The following applies to the NVF:

Vision: Expertise without frontiers
Mission: To promote advances within the road, road traffic and road transport sector through cooperation among professionals in Denmark, Finland, the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Norway and Sweden
Role: Exchange of information, knowledge and experience within and among the Nordic countries